top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicoleMarie

When the Waves Rise


What do we do when the storm builds? What do we do when those dark clouds on the horizon become suddenly near and all sky breaks loose upon us? When we find ourselves on our knees begging for answers, asking "God are you still taking care of us?"


This last week I felt a lot like those disciples in the boat might have. Covid cases in AZ are rising again. The news only speaks of disease and unrest. Things don't look good. Masses in most of our dioecian parishes were cancelled for another four weeks to try to slow the spread. Some parishes have elected to hold outdoor Mass, others will remain fully closed to the public.

Sometimes it seems pointless--why take away the one thing we need most, the sacraments?

Other times it seems like the only logical solution.


Parishioners at Mass ask "Why are we doing this Father?"

And the answer: "I don't know. I really don't know."


No one does.


And I feel like shouting "Jesus! Do you not care that we are perishing?!"


It's easy to allow that frustration to boil over into dark despair, to allow the confusion to become outright anger, to allow the helplessness cripple us in fear. To let that storm of it all overtake us, to melt in the confusion and salt of our own tears.


Into our storm He speaks: "Quiet! Be Still!"


"Why are you terrified? Do you not yet have faith?"


I don't know Jesus.

I should have more faith, after all, haven't I seen just what you can do?

Haven't I been witness to your Goodness, your compassion and care?


Yet even in all my humanity and forgetfulness and tendencies to despair, you meet me.

And you say "Quiet, be still."


The changes aren't easy. They don't often make sense. It's hard to look at is all and without thinking "what is this struggle worth?"

In this time I want to say two things I think are very important.


Firstly, pray for your priests, your pastor and your bishop. As Christians, we are called to obedience. We might not agree with the new rules, we might want to rebel against all the changes, I've wanted that too. But our bishops and priests are making the decisions they think will protect their flock. They are trying their best to be good shepherds to God's people. They are only human too, and it's a lot of weight to bear, so pray for them I urge you.


Secondly, don't give into despair. I know it, you know it, it's the evil one's way of getting through our defenses. Remember God doesn't leave us. He speaks into that storm if we only call upon Him in trust.


"Who then is this whom even the wind and sea obey?"

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page